You are currently viewing Economically Weaker Section (EWS) Certificate: Eligibility and How to Obtain it Online

Economically Weaker Section (EWS) Certificate: Eligibility and How to Obtain it Online

  • Post author:
  • Post published:November 13, 2023
  • Post category:General


How to Obtain an EWS Certificate Online Process?

In a diverse and dynamic country like India, social and economic disparities persist as a major challenge. To address this issue, various government initiatives have been put in place, including reservations and benefits for the Economically Weaker Section (EWS). The EWS certificate is a critical document that provides access to government welfare schemes, educational opportunities, and job reservations for individuals falling under the EWS category. In this comprehensive article, we will delve into the eligibility criteria for obtaining an EWS certificate and guide you through the process of obtaining one online.

Understanding the Economically Weaker Section (EWS)

The EWS category was introduced as a part of the 103rd Amendment to the Indian Constitution in 2019. It aims to provide equal opportunities for those individuals who, despite belonging to the general category, face economic hardships. The EWS category is not meant to compete with other reserved categories, such as Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST), or Other Backward Classes (OBC). Instead, it is designed to bridge the economic divide and ensure equitable access to government resources and benefits.

Eligibility Criteria for EWS Certificate

To obtain an EWS certificate, individuals must meet specific eligibility criteria. These criteria are primarily based on income and property ownership. Here are the key factors to consider:

  1. Annual Family Income: The primary criterion for eligibility is the annual family income. As per the government guidelines, the annual family income should not exceed Rs. 8 lakhs. It’s essential to understand that this limit may vary from state to state, so it’s advisable to check with your respective state’s authorities to confirm the exact income limit.
  2. Property Ownership: Another crucial factor is property ownership. Families owning agricultural land of a specific size or residential property above a particular threshold may not be eligible for the EWS certificate. Again, the rules regarding property ownership criteria can differ from state to state, so it’s essential to verify the specifics in your region.
  3. Social and Educational Criteria: Unlike other reserved categories, the EWS category does not consider an individual’s caste or community. This means that individuals from all backgrounds can apply for an EWS certificate, provided they meet the income and property ownership criteria. Additionally, there are no specific educational criteria to fulfil.

How to Obtain an EWS Certificate Online?

With the advancement of technology and digital governance, many states in India have made it possible to obtain an EWS certificate online. The process varies slightly from one state to another, but the general steps remain consistent. Here’s a step-by-step guide to obtaining your EWS certificate online:

Step 1: Determine Eligibility

Before initiating the application process, it’s crucial to ensure that you meet the eligibility criteria for the EWS certificate. Confirm that your family’s annual income falls below the prescribed limit and that you don’t exceed the property ownership thresholds.

Step 2: Gather Required Documents

To streamline the application process, collect all necessary documents in advance. The typical documents required for an EWS certificate application include:

  • Proof of identity (Aadhaar card, Voter ID, or PAN card)
  • Proof of residence (Aadhaar card, Voter ID, or utility bills)
  • Income certificate (issued by the relevant authority)
  • Caste certificate (if applicable)
  • Property ownership documents (if applicable)
  • Passport-sized photographs

Ensure that you have both physical and digital copies of these documents, as you may need to upload them during the online application process.

Step 3: Visit the Official Portal

Access the official website of your state’s government or relevant department to apply for the EWS certificate. Most states have dedicated portals for online applications. If unsure about the website, search for it online or inquire with your local authorities.

Step 4: Register on the Portal

Create an account or register on the portal using your valid mobile number and email address. You will receive an OTP (One Time Password) to verify your identity. After successful registration, you can proceed with the application.

Step 5: Fill in the Application Form

Complete the online application form with accurate and detailed information. Be sure to fill in all required fields and double-check the data to avoid any errors. Upload the necessary documents as specified in the form.

Step 6: Submit the Application

Once you have filled in the application form and uploaded the required documents, review the information to ensure its accuracy. After verifying, submit the application. You will receive a unique reference number or application ID for tracking the status of your application.

Step 7: Verification and Inspection

After submission, your application will undergo verification and inspection by the concerned authorities. They may contact you for any additional information or documents if needed. Be prepared to cooperate during this process.

Step 8: Issue of EWS Certificate

Upon successful verification, you will be issued an EWS certificate. The certificate will include your name, father’s name, address, and other relevant details. This certificate is generally valid for a specific duration, so be sure to take note of the expiration date.

Step 9: Download and Print

Once the EWS certificate is issued, it will be available for download on the same portal. Download the certificate and take a printout for your records. It’s essential to keep a physical copy of the certificate as you may need it for various government applications, such as education and job opportunities.

Step 10: Renewal (if required)

EWS certificates often have a validity period, typically one to three years. Before your certificate expires, check if it needs to be renewed. The renewal process may be simpler than the initial application, requiring you to update your income and other relevant information.


The Economically Weaker Section (EWS) certificate is a significant step towards achieving economic equality in India. It ensures that individuals facing financial hardships can access government benefits and opportunities. Obtaining an EWS certificate has become more accessible with the advent of online application processes in many states. By following the steps outlined in this article, you can take the necessary actions to apply for and secure your EWS certificate, opening doors to a range of opportunities and benefits. Remember to stay informed about the specific guidelines and eligibility criteria in your state, as they may vary from one region to another. With the EWS certificate, you can actively participate in India’s journey towards a more equitable society.


I'm a professional content creator passionate about writing. My articles span law, business, finance, investments, and government schemes, always simplifying complex topics. Exploring and embracing novelty are my off-duty joys.